Totally Boise Blog


No Phones While Driving, Boise.

Last updated June 29, 2020 by Totally Boise

Updated as of 6/19. Hands Free Driving in Idaho

Idaho's hands-free law is set to take place in Idaho starting July 1st. With the recent passing of house bill 614, Idahoans will no longer be able to use their mobile devices while driving.

While some may remember a previous "no texting law," the new hands free law is being updated in order to add social media and other phone distractions to the list.The penalty for a first time offender will be $75. Second time offenders within three years will be slapped with a $150 fine and third time offenders could face up to 90 days of a revoked license with added fines.

According to the Idaho Transportation Department, “Distracted driving crashes made up 20% of all crashes in 2018 and were responsible for 21% of all fatalities.” adding, “The economic cost of crashes involving distracted driving was over $950 million dollars in 2018. This represents 23% of the total costs of Idaho crashes.”

While navigation and other emergency uses for electronic devices will not be punishable under this new law, it is important to note that limiting as many distractions as you can while driving is important and could be life saving.

"Idahoans want to be responsible and to be good drivers. This law is another way to remind all of us we need to pay attention to the road when we're behind the wheel. As law enforcement, we can remind drivers with education or enforcement. We're starting with what we prefer, education," said Col. Kedrick Wills, Director of the Idaho State Police.

Tickets will not be issued from July 1st until the beginning of January 2021, instead warnings about being cautious on the road will be rendered.

Previously reported, in March 2020

Do you use your phone while driving? You should think twice about that now. Boise City Council just restricted using phones while driving except if it’s “hands-free” to keep all of us safe. As of Tuesday, the City Council had their third meeting reading the ordinance which means it is officially a city code. Along with Meridian who passed this ordinance in October, if you are using your phones it’ll start to cost you. This law means you are banned from using your hand held phone while operating your vehicle even when stopped at a red light. If you want to make a call you will need to start pulling over or using your Bluetooth or speakerphones.

How much will the tickets be?

Boise, Idaho Texting and Driving Laws

Tickets will start costing you $90 plus court costs. Boise Police announced this is a city code, but they will not start handing out tickets until July 1st, 2020.Until then they will pull you over for an “educational stop” to inform drivers of the new law. Time to start practicing safe driving, cutting out all use of your phone!

Boise wants to keep everyone safe!

The City Council President wants to keep public safety intact around town which is why the law was passed, they are hoping to reduce distractions while driving which will lead to less road rage and car accidents. According to the National Safety Council, texting and using phones while driving has led to 1.6 million crashes each year. It’s not worth it. Let’s stick together and keep you and our neighbors safe by following these new rules!

Illegal to Text & Drive in Boise




Memories are made in Boise.
Don’t forget to share yours with us.



Stay in the know about all things Boise.

Copyright 2023 by Totally Boise | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use